Joseph Smith’s blessing from his father

Prior to Joseph Smith’s father’s death his family gathered at his bedside, spoke with him and he gave each member of his family a blessing. This account was written by his mother, Lucy Mack Smith. I find it to be a great insight into the prophet, his parents and family. This occurred about 4 years before Joseph and Hyrum’s martyrdom. Here’s an excerpt from the account:

…Hyrum bent over his father and said: “Father, if you are taken away, will you not intercede for us at the throne of grace, that our enemies may not have so much power over us?”

He then laid his hands upon Hyrum’s head and said: “My son, Hyrum, I seal upon your head your patriarchal blessing, which I placed upon your head before, for that shall be verified. In addition to this, I now give you my dying blessing. You shall have a season of peace, so that you shall have sufficient rest to accomplish the work which God has given you to do. You shall be as firm as the pillars of heaven unto the end of your days. I now seal upon your head the patriarchal power, and you shall bless the people. This is my dying blessing upon your head in the name of Jesus. Amen.”

To Joseph he said: “‘Joseph, my son, you are called to a high and holy calling. You are even called to do the work of the Lord. Hold out faithful and you shall be blest and your children after you. You shall even live to finish your work.’ At this Joseph cried out, weeping, ‘Oh! My father, shall I?’ ‘Yes,’ said his father, ‘you shall live to lay out the plan of all the work which God has given you to do. This is my dying blessing upon your head in the name of Jesus. I also confirm your former blessing upon your head; for it shall be fulfilled. Even so. Amen.'”

…he spoke to me [Lucy Mack Smith], and said:

“‘Mother, do you not know, that you are one of the most singular women in the world?’ ‘No,’ I replied, ‘I do not.’ ‘Well I do,’ he continued, ‘you have brought up my children for me by the fireside, and when I was gone from home, you comforted them. You have brought up all my children, and could always comfort them when I could not. We have often wished that we might both die at the same time, but you must not desire to die when I do, for you must stay to comfort the children when I am gone. So do not mourn, but try to be comforted. Your last days shall be your best days, as to being driven, for you shall have more power over your enemies than you have had. Again I say, be comforted.'”

Smith, Lucy Mack; History of Joseph Smith by His Mother

Leave a Reply

